THE AQUARIUM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pepper's Aquascape Journal!

3 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Pepper's Aquascape Journal! Empty Pepper's Aquascape Journal!

Post by Miss-Pepper 1/11/2012, 14:55

Hi, so I started a journal for my tank on another website, but I thought you guys might be interested as well. I'll do a big post of everything I have at the moment, then update it everyweek or so. I think it's nice seeing how something like this progresses, I'm still learning and I hope it will interest you guys as well Very Happy

Ok so here goes, tank specs - it is a second hand Juwel Rio 180 liter. It has 2x brand new T5 45W plant bulbs and they're running at 12 hours a day at the moment. As I'm growing emersed, there is no risk of algae, and CO2 is much more readily available from the air. It gives some plants (not all plants can be grown emersed) a great head start so they have the best chance to survive once submerged.

This is a picture of the hardscape I created, there is about an inch of pond soil in there capped with an inch of play sand and also Unipac black sand.
Pepper's Aquascape Journal! 93tP4l

There is a lot of wood as I'm trying to keep pH on the acidic side for the SA fish, I have a big bag of almond leaves to help as well. There is some slate I broke up myself from a large piece and sanded the very sharp bits and some coconut houses.

I planted some HC Cuba, java moss, hydrocotyle and dwarf hairgrass after the hardscape was finished
Pepper's Aquascape Journal! X2vq3l

After one week the hydrocotyle has really shot off and grown quite a bit, lots of new shoots emerging all the time. The HC is starting to sprout a bit but hasn't done much.
Pepper's Aquascape Journal! FqPA6l

I'm also starting to see some new shoots from the DHG. Hoping to get both the DHG and HC to carpet then fill the back with taller plants.
Pepper's Aquascape Journal! WmT5el

Miss-Pepper